Product detail

Emily Sparkes and the Competition Calamity (#1)

Emily Sparkes and the Competition Calamity (#1)

Author: Ruth Fitzgerald
Series: Emily Sparkes
$15.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 2
Description
'I have read the first Emily Sparkes book and really LOVE it ...it's lots of fun and a really cool read!' - Cathy Cassidy Emily Sparkes might have found herself a new best friend and avoided humiliation at the hands of the grossest boy in the universe, but now her creativityness has landed her in a whole new world of trouble ...Emily has absolutely accidentally entered her mother into a competition to find the nation's Mum in a Million. So when Mrs Sparkes is shortlisted, Emily is more shocked than anyone! Desperate not to be publicly humiliated on TV, she has to come up with a plan for a mum makeover. Because her eco-warrior, allotment-loving, generally horrendously embarrassing parent can't make her star appearance in a granddad-cap and wellies - can she? Oh. And Chloe Clarke comes back. Need we say more?
Reviews
I have read the first Emily Sparkes book and really LOVE it ... it's lots of fun and a really cool read! Cathy Cassidy, bestselling author of The Chocolate Box Girls series Utterly hilarious and utterly relatable, Ruth Fitzgerald just gets all of the awful problems associated with being eleven years old. Everything in Emily Sparkes's life is a crisis, and each crisis is funnier than the last. Bring on the next book! Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike (Wells and Wong Mysteries) I laughed and laughed at Emily Sparkes and the Friendship Fiasco! She's like a younger Georgia Nicolson. Susie Day, author of Pea's Book of Best Friends (Pea's Book series) Lots to appeal to fans of Cathy Cassidy and Dork Diaries in this funny new series The Bookseller More satisfying than much junior chick-lit The Observer Once you start reading this book you won't be able to put it down. It's true to life and very funny. Emily Sparkes is everyone's dream best friend! Alice, 12 I thought this was side-splittingly funny and very realistic. Emily Sparkes is someone I'd want to be friends with! Sterrett, 10 Emily Sparkes is amazingly funny. I thought it was hilarious when Emily named her new baby sister Yoda! Maddie, 12 Emily Sparkes is my new favourite character. She made me laugh a lot! Piper, 11 With cool illustrations and doodles, this is a fun read The Best New Children's Books 2015
Author description
Ruth Fitzgerald grew up in South Wales but has lived most of her life in Suffolk. She wrote her first story at the age of six and immediately announced she wanted to be a writer. Her teacher immediately told her that being a writer was a hobby and she needed to get a proper job. Ruth tried twenty-three proper jobs before deciding her teacher was wrong. She lives near Ipswich with her family, a tiny dog and five chickens. Find out more about Ruth and her Emily Sparkes series at www.ruthfitzgerald.com
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780349001845
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Little, Brown Young Readers
  • : July 2015
  • : 198mm X 126mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : May 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : B/w internal illustrations, number TBC
  • : 823.92
  • : Paperback
  • : 288
  • : en
  • : Ruth Fitzgerald