Product detail

Under the Egg

Under the Egg

Author: Laura Marx Fitzgerald
$12.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 4
Description

"From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler" meets "Chasing Vermeer" in this clever middle grade debut When Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfather's painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. That's great news for Theo, who's struggling to hang onto her family's two-hundred-year-old townhouse and support her unstable mother on her grandfather's legacy of $463. There's just one problem: Theo's grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and she worries the painting may be stolen. With the help of some unusual new friends, Theo's search for answers takes her all around Manhattan, and introduces her to a side of the city--and her grandfather--that she never knew. To solve the mystery, she'll have to abandon her hard-won self-reliance and build a community, one serendipitous friendship at a time. "Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered." --"SLJ "Fuse 8 Blog "Riveting from start to finish." --"BookPage "

Promotion info

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Chasing Vermeer in this clever mystery.

Reviews

Praise for "Under the Egg"" " An Indie Next List Pick! "It's really a very compelling read and I don't know how she did it." - Kate DiCamillo on NPR "With surprising twists, heartwarming moments and historical facts, Laura Marx Fitzgerald creates the perfect adventure in "Under the Egg." Art enthusiast or not, any girl will love this book." - GirlsLife.com * "Along with the themes of research, family commitment, and Holocaust history, fans of Koningsburg's "From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler" and Balliett's "Chasing Vermeer" will thrill at the chance to solve a new mystery centered around art." - "Library Media Connection," starred review "Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered." - Betsy Bird, SLJ Fuse 8 Blog "A fast-paced mystery...If Dan Brown of "The Da Vinci Code" wrote middle-grade novels, this would be the one." -" Kirkus Reviews" "Fans of "From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler" will find this another delightful lesson in art history." - Publishers Weekly "Fans of Blue Balliett's "Chasing Vermeer" and Elise Broach's "Masterpiece "will enjoy this art caper." - School Library Journal "A gripping mystery with high stakes and moving historical context...[Fitzgerald's] focus on restitution and the personal value of art adds considerable depth to the narrative." - "The Horn Book" "Under the Egg" is an exciting page-turner." - "Deseret News" "Riveting from start to finish." - "BookPage" "This mix of mystery, history and art will keep readers wondering right up to the surprising end." - "Discovery Girls "

Author description

In writing "Under the Egg," Laura Marx Fitzgerald drew on her study of art history at Harvard and Cambridge Universities. She lives in Brooklyn, and this is her middle grade debut.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780142427651
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : Puffin Books
  • : April 2015
  • : 198mm X 130mm X 24mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : July 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Laura Marx Fitzgerald
  • : full colour illustrations
  • : 813.6
  • : Paperback
  • : 256