Product detail

We are Giants

We are Giants

Author: Amber Lee Dodd
$14.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 2

'A total page-turner...very moving and touching.' JACQUELINE WILSON A brilliantly funny and wonderfully warm-hearted story about love, family, and what it means to be different. Sydney thinks her mum Amy is the best mum in the world - even if she is a bit different. When everyone else kept growing, Amy got to four feet tall and then stopped right there. The perfect height, in Sydney's opinion: big enough to reach the ice cream at the supermarket, small enough to be special. Sydney's dad died when she was only five, but her memories of him, her mum's love and the company of her brave big sister Jade means she never feels alone ...But when the family are forced to move house, things get tricky. Sydney and Jade must make new friends, deal with the bullies at their new school and generally figure out the business of growing up in a strange new town. And Sydney doesn't want to grow up - not if it means getting bigger than her mum...


A total page-turner...very moving and touching. Jacqueline Wilson It deals with topics that would be familiar to a lot of 9-12 year olds...refreshing and heartwarming, without being too sickly - well worth a read! Waterstone's Books Quarterly This book will have you well and truly hooked from the opening chapter and if you're anything like as big a softy as me, you will be sobbing into your hankie for most of it. It's a truly wonderful and touching book that doesn't shy away from some important and sensitive issues. We loved it to bits! ReaditDaddy An engaging story that will appeal to fans of Jacqueline Wilson... The story weaves in a very informative explanation of the challenges of dwarfism through the prejudice and practical challenges Sydney's mum has to face in her daily life... The matter of fact way that Sydney describes her mum's experiences is particularly clever as readers are likely to accept this as part of the story and only sublimely realise the issues being raised in the book -- Sue Magee The Bookbag ...a touching and sensitive book, told with great insight and understanding; it is always realistic, does not gloss over the problems but gives a positive and encouraging spin. Parents In Touch For readers of Lara Williamson and R J Palacio, this debut promises to be an original and warm-hearted take on grief, growing up and living with a disability. -- Fiona Noble The Bookseller An important story that will stay with you for years to come. We Are Giants is a beautiful book about growing up, moving on and accepting who we are. Sydney is a heroine who will climb into your heart and stay there. -- Jane Elson, author

Author description

Amber Lee Dodd was born and grew up on the island city of Portsmouth, where she rode the waltzers, swam in the winter sea and lost her wellies in the marshes. Now she spends most of her time poking around second hand and charity shops for fabulous old hats, that's when she's not writing plays and stories. Her plays have been performed at Chichester Festival Theatre, the New Theatre Royal and the Edinburgh Fringe. Her stories have been published around the world and broadcast on BBC radio 4.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781784294212
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Quercus Children's Books
  • : January 2016
  • : 19.80 cmmm X 12.90 cmmm X 2.00 cmmm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 823.92
  • : Paperback
  • : 256
  • : en
  • : Amber Lee Dodd