Product detail

A Closed and Common Orbit

A Closed and Common Orbit

Author: Becky Chambers
Series: Wayfarers
$32.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description
Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has to start over in a synthetic body, in a world where her kind are illegal. She's never felt so alone. But she's not alone, not really. Pepper, one of the engineers who risked life and limb to reinstall Lovelace, is determined to help her adjust to her new world. Because Pepper knows a thing or two about starting over. Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that, huge as the galaxy may be, it's anything but empty. The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible imagination of Becky Chambers and has been nominated for any number of awards and accolades, including the Baileys Prize for Women's Fiction, the Tiptree Award, the Kitschies Golden Tentacle and the Arthur C. Clarke Award. A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect and Star Wars.
Reviews
A joyous, optimistic space opera... Although it isn't shy about tackling Big Questions, PLANET is a heart-warming debut novel that will restore your faith in science fiction (specifically) and humanity (in general). Tor.com on THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL ANGRY PLANET One of the most enjoyable, brilliantly realised spacey SF novels I've read in ages. James Smythe on THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL ANGRY PLANET A quietly profound, humane tour de force' Guardian on THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL ANGRY PLANET Joyously written and a joy to read. Claire North on THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL ANGRY PLANET
Author description
Becky Chambers was raised in California as the progeny of an astrobiology educator, an aerospace engineer, and an Apollo-era rocket scientist. An inevitable space enthusiast, she made the obvious choice of studying performing arts. After a few years in theatre administration, she shifted her focus toward writing. Her creative work has appeared at The Mary Sue, Tor.com, Five Out Of Ten, The Toast, and Pornokitsch.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781473621435
  • : Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • : Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • : October 2016
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : October 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 384
  • : Becky Chambers