Product detail

Mountain Shadow

Mountain Shadow

Author: Gregory David Roberts
$39.99 (AUD)  inc GST
save $7.00 (AUD) (14.9%) $46.99 (AUD)
Available Stock: 0

Gregory David Roberts' epic novel, Shantaram, introduced millions of readers to a cast of unforgettable characters in the hidden heart of Bombay through Lin, an Australian fugitive, working as a passport forger for a branch of the Bombay mafia. In The Mountain Shadow, the long awaited sequel, Lin must find his way in a Bombay run by a different generation of mafia dons, playing by a different set of rules. It has been two years since the events in Shantaram, and since Lin lost two people he had come to love: his father figure, Khaderbhai, and his soul mate, Karla, married to a handsome Indian media tycoon. Lin returns from a smuggling trip to a city that seems to have changed too much, too soon. Many of his old friends are long gone, the new mafia leadership has become entangled in increasingly violent and dangerous intrigues, and a fabled holy man challenges everything that Lin thought he'd learned about love and life. But Lin can't leave the Island City: Karla, and a fatal promise, won't let him go. A love story of hope, humour, and the philosophical quest for the wisdom of our common humanity, The Mountain Shadow is a sublime, all-consuming novel of our extraordinary human struggle for love and faith. Fans of Vikram Seth, John Irving and David Mitchell will love Shantaram and The Mountain Shadow.

Author description

Gregory David Roberts retired from public life in 2014 to devote time to his family and new writing projects.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781743535592
  • : Pan Macmillan Australia
  • : Picador Australia
  • : December 2014
  • : 233mm X 154mm
  • : Australia
  • : October 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Hardback
  • : 880
  • : en
  • : Gregory David Roberts