Product detail

The Reader on the 6.27

The Reader on the 6.27

Author: Jean-Paul Didierlaurent
$19.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 2
Description

An international bestseller from French author Jean-Paul Didierlaurent, The Reader on the 6.27 is ready to take you on a journey ...Guylain Vignolles lives on the edge of existence. Working at a book pulping factory in a job he hates, he has but one pleasure in life ...Sitting on the 6.27 train each day, Guylain recites aloud from pages he has saved from the jaws of his monstrous pulping machine. But it is when he discovers the diary of a lonely young woman, Julie - a woman who feels as lost in the world as he does - that his journey will truly begin ...The Reader on the 6.27 is a tale bursting with larger-than-life characters, each of whom touches Guylain's life for the better. For fans of Amelie and Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore, this captivating novel is a warm, funny fable about literature's power to uplift even the most downtrodden of lives.

Promotion info

The irresistible French bestseller about the redemptive power of books - Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore meets Amelie

Reviews

A delightful tale about the kinship of reading... Much of the charm resides in the simplicity of Didierlaurent's prose and his vivid characterisation. Ros Schwartz's translation perfectly conveys the warmth and eccentricities of his memorable cast. Already a bestseller in France, The Reader on the 6.27 looks set to woo British readers and become a book club favourite Independent on Sunday Charming ... It is a clever, funny, and humane work that champions the power of literature Sunday Times This contemporary fable was acquired by more than twenty countries. A beautiful testimony to the universality of the love of books Livres Hebdo The humanity of the characters ... the re-enchantment of everyday life, the power of words and literature, tenderness and humor ... The Reader on the 6.27 is a must. L'Express I read it in one sitting, I couldn't put it down! It is one of those feel-good books that gets you really invested in the character's story, and then puts you in a good mood when you finish it. There is an underlying element of it being a love story, but the novel is so much more than that. Literary Loveliness - Hello Magazine Online

Author description

Jean-Paul Didierlaurent lives in the Vosges region of France. His short stories have twice won the International Hemingway Award. The Reader on the 6.27 is his first novel. A bestseller in France, it has been sold in over 25 territories.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781447276494
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Pan Books
  • : December 2015
  • : 197mm X 130mm X 13mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : July 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : Main Market Ed.
  • : 208
  • : Jean-Paul Didierlaurent
  • : 843.92