Product detail

The Apple Tart of Hope

The Apple Tart of Hope

Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
$15.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 2
Description

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, BACK TO BLACKBRICK, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

Promotion info

The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, THE APPLE TART OF HOPE is a contemporary love story about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope.

Awards

Shortlisted for Waterstones Children's Book Prize: Teen Books Category 2015.

Reviews

This novel is gentle and mild but it has hidden powers, too. -- Martin Chilton THE TELEGRAPH This suspenseful story is vivid with characters THE SUNDAY TIMES A big-hearted novel about love, loyalty and friendship from a rising star -- The Bookseller The Bookseller ...a wonderful book that will leave you with a giant smile on your face, and a longing for the taste homemade apple tart. THE BOOK BAG I was so absorbed in the moving storyline that I read it in one sitting Book Babblers A beautiful book about being different, about good and bad friendships, and how salvation can come from an unlikely place. Scribbles Book Reviews I felt this story had real depth, and dealt honestly and compassionately with strong emotions and serious decisions. The Little Reader Library Both adults and children alike would thoroughly enjoy Chrissi Reads A poignant, unusual contemporary novel -- Imogen Russell Williams Metro This novel is gentle and mild but it has hidden powers, too. -- Martin Chilton THE TELEGRAPH

Author description

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald was born in New York in 1965 but grew up in Co.Dublin. She is a professor and associate vice president at the University of Limerick in Ireland, specialising in psychology and effective pedagogy in higher education, and has published several non-fiction books on teaching, learning and academic writing. She runs regular writers' retreats for academics and students in Ireland and internationally. Follow her on Twitter @SMooreFitz

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781444011159
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Orion Children's Books
  • : December 2014
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : en
  • : Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
  • : 823.92
  • : Paperback
  • : 272