Product detail

Red Queen (#1)

Red Queen (#1)

Author: Victoria Aveyard
Series: Red Queen
$16.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

This is a world divided by blood - red or silver.


The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.


That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.


Fearful of Mare's potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.


But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance - Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart . . .

Promotion info

A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.

Reviews

An incredible start to an electrifying new series ... Red Queen is a fantastic debut which makes me extremely enthusiastic about the rest of the books to come ... If you're going to pick up a book, pick this one up. THE GUARDIAN ONLINE "A whirlwind of betrayal and plot twists." SCI-FI NOW "A whirlwind of betrayal and plot twists." SCI-FI NOW "It's slick, it's interesting and ... gripping." SFX "It's slick, it's interesting and ... gripping." SFX Red Queen... Where do I start? As I sit here after closing the book just this second, with a shocked, enthralled, amazed brooding look on my face I think its safe to say that this book has royally floored me... If you're having hangovers over the Divergent series, or having withdrawal symptoms from the Hunger Games then this is the book that will get you out of that funk. DARK READERS Red Queen... Where do I start? As I sit here after closing the book just this second, with a shocked, enthralled, amazed brooding look on my face I think its safe to say that this book has royally floored me... If you're having hangovers over the Divergent series, or having withdrawal symptoms from the Hunger Games then this is the book that will get you out of that funk. DARK READERS 'Red Queen is a clever blend of The Hunger Games, The Selection, Graceling and Divergent.' STARBURST 'Red Queen is a clever blend of The Hunger Games, The Selection, Graceling and Divergent.' STARBURST Aveyard weaves a compelling new world, and Mare and the two men in her life evolve intriguingly as class tension rises. Revolution supersedes romance, setting the stage for action-packed surprises. An inventive, character-driven twist breathes new life into tired fantasy trends. KIRKUS Aveyard weaves a compelling new world, and Mare and the two men in her life evolve intriguingly as class tension rises. Revolution supersedes romance, setting the stage for action-packed surprises. An inventive, character-driven twist breathes new life into tired fantasy trends. KIRKUS "In Red Queen Victoria Aveyard has delivered a clever, slick and compelling debut. The dystopian novel will please fans of The Hunger Games but uses a supernatural twist to explore the theme of social injustice." We Love This Book 'A wonderful mash up of Ancient Rome and Marie Antoinette with a dash of Catherine Fisher's Incarceron and Ridley Scott's Gladiator, not to mention some of Marvel Comic's box of tricks ... Exciting and original. Sam Hawksmoor, author of the Repossession Trilogy 'A wonderful mash up of Ancient Rome and Marie Antoinette with a dash of Catherine Fisher's Incarceron and Ridley Scott's Gladiator, not to mention some of Marvel Comic's box of tricks ... Exciting and original. Sam Hawksmoor, author of the Repossession Trilogy "Victoria Aveyard is a genuinely good writer... a dark gripping book that grips and surprises the reader." THE BOOKBAG "Victoria Aveyard is a genuinely good writer... a dark gripping book that grips and surprises the reader." THE BOOKBAG "In Red Queen Victoria Aveyard has delivered a clever, slick and compelling debut. The dystopian novel will please fans of The Hunger Games but uses a supernatural twist to explore the theme of social injustice." We Love This Book This is the first book I read in 2015 and I'm glad I began the year with a book outside my comfort zone because I truly, truly enjoyed. EMMALOUBOOKBLOG This is the first book I read in 2015 and I'm glad I began the year with a book outside my comfort zone because I truly, truly enjoyed. EMMALOUBOOKBLOG I enjoyed this book immensely... the plot of the book was well executed, the twists creeped up on me slowly but surely. The atmosphere Aveyard created was perfect. BOOKSFORBIRDS I enjoyed this book immensely... the plot of the book was well executed, the twists creeped up on me slowly but surely. The atmosphere Aveyard created was perfect. BOOKSFORBIRDS "Red Queen simply blew me away... an exquisite debut from Aveyard, usually it takes a few books for an author to become a favourite, but Aveyard has managed to become a favourite with just one book." The Readers Den "Red Queen simply blew me away... an exquisite debut from Aveyard, usually it takes a few books for an author to become a favourite, but Aveyard has managed to become a favourite with just one book." The Readers Den 'Red Queen is a debut bursting with betrayal, jealousy, love and rebellion and it's fantastic. YA fantasy is really on the up at the moment and Victoria Aveyard is going to be one of the leaders of the pack.' SO LITTLE TIME FOR BOOKS 'Red Queen is a debut bursting with betrayal, jealousy, love and rebellion and it's fantastic. YA fantasy is really on the up at the moment and Victoria Aveyard is going to be one of the leaders of the pack.' SO LITTLE TIME FOR BOOKS A fantastic debut, with a perfect balance of epic, action filled scenes, cunning characters, mystery and a creative plot, RED QUEEN is a definite favourite and I cannot wait for more from this author WHAT DANIELLE DID NEXT

Author description

Victoria Aveyard is a screenwriter in Hollywood. Red Queen is her first novel.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781409150725
  • : Orion Publishing Co
  • : Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • : November 2014
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : July 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : en
  • : Victoria Aveyard
  • : 813.6
  • : Paperback
  • : 388