Product detail

Whisper to Me

Whisper to Me

Author: Nick Lake
$17.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

"I love you. I'm sorry for what I did to you. I'm going to write it all down, explain everything that happened, why I broke your heart." Cassie's own heart was broken when she was younger, by a tragedy she can barely talk about. She lives near the beach, with her angry father and his collection of reptiles, and a voice that whispers strange, dark thoughts into her mind. Cassie is seventeen and she is unravelling. Even when she first meets him, the boy, the one, she can't begin to imagine that anything could happen between them. That he might be someone amazing. That in the course of one summer, she will go to the darkest places and back again, with him by her side. That she might have to hurt him to save herself. Told in flashbacks, as a letter from heartbreaker to heartbroken, this powerful, unforgettable novel is intense, explosive and utterly gripping. From Carnegie shortlisted, Printz winning Nick Lake.

Promotion info

A stunning, heart-rending, gut-wrenching novel about love, loss and mental illness, perfect for readers of All the Bright Places and I'll Give You the Sun.


A great read packed with twists, turns and revelations Sunday Express on There Will Be Lies Impressively unpredictable - a motley mix of taut thriller, transportive fantasy, and poignant coming-of-age ... Shelby narrates the surreal implosion of her life in an indignant, funny voice, a la Judy Blume Entertainment Weekly on There Will Be Lies A rare joy to behold Booklist on There Will Be Lies Lake returns to the mix of reality and fantasy he used to great success in his Printz-winning In Darkness ... Shelby is highly sympathetic Publishers Weekly on There Will Be Lies A twisty drama suffused with elements of folklore Wall Street Journal on There Will Be Lies This is a novel that will keep the reader guessing right to the very end School Library Association on There Will Be Lies Vivid and poignant School Library Journal, starred review, on Hostage Three Suspenseful, complicated ... A fine exploration of the power of story itself Kirkus Reviews on There Will Be Lies A startling but successful feat of literary imagination Publishers Weekly, starred review, on In Darkness

Author description

Nick Lake is the much acclaimed author of In Darkness, winner of the Michael L. Printz Award; Hostage Three, which received three starred reviews and was named a Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal and Boston Globe Best Book of the Year; and There Will Be Lies. He is also the Publishing Director for fiction at HarperCollins Children's Books UK. Nick lives near Oxford, England. @NicholasLake

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408853863
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : February 2016
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : May 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 823.92
  • : Paperback
  • : 544
  • : en
  • : Nick Lake